IgbereTV Awards: Chukwueze, Ighalo, Iwobi Nominated for ‘Footballer of the Year’

Samuel Chukwueze, Odion Ighalo, Wilfred Ndidi, Victor Osimhen and Alex Iwobi have all been nominated for award as 2020 ‘Footballer of the Year’.

The Nigerian international footballers were nominated by well-meaning Nigerians at the ongoing nominations for the 2020 edition of the prestigious Igbere TV Leadership Excellence Awards.


This was disclosed Tuesday, August 25, 2020 by Emeh James Anyalekwa, executive director of Igbere TV in a statement made available to newsmen in Uyo, the Akwa Ibom State capital.

The prestigious Igbere TV Awards recognises and honours the outstanding impacts of leaders across both the public and private sectors in Nigeria.

The Award also applauds excellence, achievements, performance, humanitarian activities and philanthropic gestures.

The 2019 edition which held 28th November, 2019 at the Sheraton Hotels, Abuja saw several captains of industry, public figures and leaders cling on to the various Award categories.


Although no date has been announced for the 2020 edition, the organizers said the event would be held in compliance with the NCDC and World Health Organization guidelines and protocols on COVID-19.

Nominations for the Awards are still ongoing and would close August 30, Nigerians are therefore enjoined to send in nominations to igberetv@gmail.com indicating the category.