His Excellency, Senator Hope Uzodimma Inaugurates the Governing Council of Imo State University,  Owerri at the Government House EXCO Chambers.

The members of the Governing Council are:
1. His Lordship, Most Rev. Dr. Lucious Ugorji (Chairman)
2. Chief Leo Stan Eke (members)
3. Chief Tony Ezenna
4. Sir Louis Ezeigwe
5. Chief Ernest Nwapa
6. Prof. Chinedu Nebo
7. Mrs. Victoria Adaku Ekezie

Other Statutory Members include:
8. Adaobi Obasi, The Vice-Chancellor, Imo State University Owerri
9. The Registrar, Imo state University Owerri
10. The Bursar, Imo State University Owerri
11. The Librarian, Imo State University Owerri

Members of the Government official present are:
Prof. Placid Njoku, Deputy Governor;
Barr. Nnamdi Anyaehie, Chief of Staff;
Barr. Cosmos Iwu, SSG
Hon. Chiji Collins, Speaker Imo House of Assembly;
Hon. Chyna Iwuanyanwu, Depuy Speaker, Imo State House of Assembly.
Commissioner for Education,  Prof. Ikegwuha; Hon. Declan Emelumba, Commissioner for Information,Mrs. Nneamaka Okafor, SA to the Governor, New and Electronic Media;

Inauguration of IMSU Governing  Council, on Aug. 31, 2020. That the moment IMSU Council was  dissolved by the Ihedioha's administration; all members loose their seat

This, with the dissolution of that council, all positions for senate,congregation and convocation  in the Governing Council are now open for contest for all interested members of those bodies.

This is the reason why the  the Visitor to the University, the Governor of Imo State, His Excellency, Senator Hope Uzodinma appointed seven (7) new persons including the Pro Chancellor, to the Governing Council and had them inaugurated today, Monday August 31, 2020