COVID - 19 : Governor Uzodinma Inaugurates Committee In Imo With Prof Iwu As Head.

Former Independent National Electoral Commission Chairman Prof. Maurice Iwu has been appointed the chairman of the nine man committee set up by Imo State Governor Hope Uzodimma yesterday.

Other members are;  Dr. Okeji Austin of the Ministry of Health ( Member/Secretary), Dr. Kingsley Achigbu Fed Medical Centre, Dr. Uduji Uchenna (Imo Specialist Hospital, Dr. Duru Chukwuma JP (IMSUTH), Prof. Isiah Ibe, (Med. Lab, University of Benin, Miss Nkem Chimeze Ijere, (Public Health) DR. Chimezie Iwuala, and Dr. Kyrian Duruewuru (Chairman NMA-Imo Chapter).

Governor Uzodimma who took this initiative to forestall the spread of the disease now ravaging many parts of the world stated that Government took this step as a proactive measure even as Imo has not recorded any COVID-19 infection.

In the wake of the outbreak of the Coronavirus, Governor Uzodimma had directed the Ministry of Health to activate all platforms, including emergency response measures with the procurement of protective equipment, enhanced border surveillance, community enlightenment and distribution of sanitary.